Stress Baking: Peanut Butter & Chocolate Chip Cookies

Sometime sophomore or junior year, I developed the terrible habit of stress-baking. Every time I sat down at my desk and tried to open my textbooks or to start reading through Powerpoints, I found myself going onto Pinterest and scrolling through baking recipes. I love baking to begin with, but the methodical process of baking and creating things that made people happy got me hooked, and I’ve since spent many nights in my kitchen.

Tonight was no different as I contemplated either reading about marketing or baking cookies. After a crappy and rainy day, peanut butter chocolate chip cookies were necessary. The recipe I used was adapted from here. If you love peanut butter and chocolate (who doesn’t) you need to try this recipe out!

cookie 1

The batter was your typical butter, sugar, brown sugar, eggs, vanilla, and peanut butter. 2 tips here. If you forgot to soften your butter earlier, take your frozen butter and microwave it so it’s mostly softened, and refrigerate the melted portion while you’re creaming the rest of the ingredients and incorporate it into the batter later. Another tip: if your brown sugar has hardened, microwave it with a damp paper towel over it and it’ll soften it!

 cookie 2

The original recipe calls for chocolate chips, but I like chopping up semi-sweet baking chips. That way you get more chocolate in every bite of your cookie and there’s a good mix of chocolate chunks. Also, godbless whoever first thought of scooping cookie dough with an ice cream scoop.

 cookie 3

The original recipe says to bake for 12-14 minutes, but that lead to my first batch burning! Always check on your cookies as you bake, but I found that 10 minutes gave me perfectly golden brown cookies. Also flatten out the cookie dough before you bake them because they don’t flatten that much in the oven.

cookie 4

Using the recipe, I was able to make about 2 dozen cookies! Cookies for days! I recommend eating these warm with a cold glass of milk while sitting on your couch in jammies forgetting about all your adult responsibilities…is that just me…

One Comment Add yours

  1. ccarlin23 says:

    These are all that I want

    Like

Leave a Reply

